HIH frontpage
Log in to check your private messages
NOTICE TO ALL HIH USERS:

This is the HIH version 2 forum archive, locked and read-only.

-HIH Admin Staff


Need a 64-bit capture card...

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    High Impact Halo Forum Index » Technical Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
THEpiGUY

Joined: 20 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Need a 64-bit capture card... Reply with quote
I found that the Hauppauge PVR-150 released 64-bit drivers recently, but is it a good card? Any suggestions on 64-bit cards? I looked in the sticky and didn't see any.

Also, which would give me better performance: PCI or USB 2.0? I don't mind an internal card.
View user's profile Send private message
Daleks United
Plug 'n' Pray
Plug 'n' Pray

Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
That refers to the Processor, not the capture card. You need a capture card that has drivers compatible with a 64 bit processor, but you may find 32 bit drivers work jsut not take advantage of your processor.

PCI would probably give the same performance as USB, but it may do it with less drain on the PC.
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
THEpiGUY

Joined: 20 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
No, I need one with X64 drivers. I have Windows X64 edition and my old cc won't work on my computer simply because the regular XP 32-bit drivers didn't work.

In detail, I had originally bought an ATI TV Wonder USB 2.0 for my brother's 32-bit computer. I was considering buying a new gaming computer since his was going out of date. The processor is an Athlon 64 4000+ and I have Windows XP: X64 Edition. After getting my comp about a month ago, I tried my capture card out to see if it would be faster. I found out that it didn't recognize the card at first, so I installed the software that came with it first. It "finished installing" and I restarted my comp, which was recommended by the pop-up box. After restarting, I found out that I had no ATI files anywhere on my computer. I looked under the directory that I said to install it under and there was nothing. So then I decided to go online and download their drivers. They didn't have mine. I tried the drivers for Windows XP, but they also failed to install properly. So now I'm looking to sell this one and buy a X64 compatible one.
View user's profile Send private message
Daleks United
Plug 'n' Pray
Plug 'n' Pray

Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
The software should have installed, even if the drivers didn't :S

This website looks liek it may help - you have to scroll down a bit to get to the lists of supported cards.

Here we go
http://www.planetamd64.com/lofiversion/index.php/t4260.html
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    High Impact Halo Forum Index » Technical Help All times are GMT - 3 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
PlayStation by Scott Stubblefield. Modified for HIH by Ducain.